i love my sensation and perception class. slash professor.

on friday we have someone who is blind coming in to talk to us. a word of warning from my teacher:
“she’ll probably bring her dog. now, don’t play with her dog. she gets weird about it. one time she got mad at my daughter for playing with him. then that made me mad but it’s ok cause she couldn’t see that.”

“any one have astigmatism here?”
hands raise
“you have brain damage, don’t worry about it.”

talking about how your vision gets worse as you get older and you have to read from further away:
“i didn’t think it would happen to me, but it did. you can’t stop it. it’s like a big train comin’ to town.”

“any one have a grandparent with cataracts?”
hands raise
“yeah, they start looking glassy.”

talking about a detached retina:
“it actually comes off really easy. it’s just kinda floating there.”

talking about getting eye exams:
“kids are lying all the time.”

Standard

Leave a comment